Life begins at the edge of the comfort zone.

Asma Afzal
3 min readJan 15, 2021

--

The word comfort zone is very comfortable, but nothing flourishes here except the fears, laziness, uneasiness, and anxiety. What if life revolved only around waking up, showering, having a nice cup of tea, watching movie series over movie series, eating, and sleeping. All this seems safe and shielded but this way you will grow only in size and your mind will be retarded. You will have no opinion, no learning, and will be living a totally purposeless life.

Then a life where you wake up, keep yourself limited to only you, do everything that benefits only you, and live a life only for yourself. You get out of your comfort zone but only for your own comfort and providing yourself with all the stuff you need. This seems quite selfish.

Now the third kind of life where you wake and are focused to improve your surroundings. Live a life that can help any other to get out of their comfort zone, that can help any other to live (merely). Your little effort can make anyone else smile even for a while. Your little effort can provide someone with the most basic needs of your life. Your little support can help someone to live up.

The third kind of life genuinely fascinates me the most. The life in which I can help others to live. This life calls you to push yourself out of your comfort zone and face the challenges facing you. I was already in love with such a life, where you live for others, and then a project was assigned to me by Amal Mentors. As per this project with my group, has to collect some donations for the Edhi Foundation. This project was challenging for me in two ways:

  1. I was leading my group where we were to set some strategy that we’ll be following to collect the donations.
  2. Never before in my life, I have requested someone for some donations.

For the strategy, we collaborated with the Mega Circle 3 and designed a poster. We mentioned the Easy Paise, JazzCash, and Bank account details on the poster and posted that poster on our social media accounts and as WhatsApp status as well. There were only a few people who contact themselves and here we followed the quote, “Life begins at the edge of the comfort zone.” and contacted many people.

This was my time to show up as group leader so I buckled up myself by shouting (in my mind) Just Start Asma. I called my Mom’s friend, thinking that I have to explain everything to her about my project. But to my surprise, she responded in such a splendid way that encouraged me for my project. Then I and my group contacted as many people as we can via mobile calls. Most of them accepted our request but there were very who rejected.

This project truly helped me to get out of my comfort zone and contact people and requested for donations.

In the end, we transferred all the donations that we collected to our near by Edhi Foundations.

--

--